Just For Fun

lately my blogs have been on a serious note, but today I thought I would write a short story. This is almost a true story. My day started out in a typical way; getting up with only having 6 hours of sleep because my cat was taking up too much space on the  bed and my left leg being a tad bit on the restless side. It was also a warm night and no matter of how much my fan was going it did no good.  However, God was good! My sister had coffee and a roll already for me today.

         “Sorry your leg was restless again.” She was always sympathetic about my leg. In fact, she would pray concerning it.

         “I’ll survive. I have a big day today. I have an appointment with my characters and Ia m on a  deadline.”

        “Don’t forget we are going out to lunch today.”

        “We are?” My mother was suffering from a mild form of Alzheimer  She had forgot  we had planned this last night. “I’ll have to see how much money I have on hand.”

         My sister remembered she needed to see  if we have enough money for groceries. Grocery shopping was my duty and I had made up my mind that even though it takes me away from my writing, I would go and be a blessing as I shop.  “Mom! We only have a ten dollar bill!”

        “Here we go again.” My sister and I had enough of this and wanted out. It was enough for my sister  to have to take care of  our dying father who  acts like a 3 years old every day  who did not get his way, but the constant reminding, her slow pace and everything else. “My fault. I forgot to remind her yesterday.”
           It has been decided  that she will go to the bank, but we wondered if she was going to meet us at McDonald’s.  We decided to go anyway and  sure enough  she almost forgot, but we made it.  We always enjoy eating there. It was like a tradition: 3 double cheeseburger mini meals and it was delicious. We even had time to read our books and with my sister being on probation from her classwork, she was able to read her book.
            The day got rougher for them and interesting to me. I met some people on the bus that I used to know but didn’t want to interact with. What I really wanted to do was talk to the bus driver because I was working on a story idea, but when I saw this girl get on, I  climbed to the back. “Oh well.”  I took out my book and began reading it. It was giving me ideas. The only thing I didn’t like  about the book was it was too worldly. Words were used in it that   I did not care to hear. “Someday I will read a Christian Mystery.”
           
       At the third stop, I saw  someone I wish  I didn’t know  get on the bus. “Heeey, Ruth! How is it going?”  It was Leslie Westen. 

         To be polite, I said, “Hello, Leslie.”  Why is it when I show no interest in someone he continues to show one in me? I must be some kind of magnet or something. I continue to show disinterest as I read my book.

         “What are you reading there?” He tried to read the cover. “How to not make Apple Pie.” He read. “What is it? Some sort of  cookbook?”

          “It is a mystery. It is about a baker being accused of poisoning her competition.”

          “Ohhhhhh.” Then he started  babbling away  about  subjects I could care less about, especially about his faith. 
          I was so glad the bus reached my destination. I  said a nice “goodbye,” to Leslie and whispered “A good riddance” after I disembarked the bus   To my disappointment he  got off too. “Why me?” I thought.
        “Didn’t you want to be a blessing?”  God asked.

        “Not to him! He is a Catholic! I hate his faith! ”  But I knew what God was getting at. He told Abraham  to all the families of the earth. I just have to be nicer is all but not show interest. “You need to  shop here too?”

     “Going to Target. See you later.” He walked away.

     Thank God! I thought and went merrily on my way to Wally World.

     I didn’t see Leslie when I finished shopping so for me it was a good thing. I liked him but not for dating purposes.  As I waited about 15 minutes for the bus, I couldn’t  wait to get back  to my writing. On Facebook I have received some unwanted comments  from some well meaning people. I know they are trying to help, but it was not doing its job. I thanked them for their advice and told them I would pray about it.  My first two novels didn’t sell well because I followed bad advice so I learn not to take everything said seriously unless I felt the Lord telling me to follow it.

       The bus was late! I looked at my watch and it read 2:50pm! It should have come already. To add to my agitation, I saw him coming.  I smiled but only  with pretense as he walked towards me. “Bus is late?”
       Obviously he doesn’t keep time as I do about  when the bus  arrives so I humored him and said, ‘Looks like it.” 

       “We will have to  catch our bus the next hour.”

       I just as soon go on Route 1. I thought. I tried to drown him out as he babbled on again by  getting involved with my book.

        The Lord worked in my favor for when  the bus arrived, my other bus hasn’t. I made a phone call to my sister and told her I would be late.

        “The bus was late for us too so we walked home. Mom is tired and complaining about her achy legs.”

        “I can imagine.”  My mother not only has Alzheimer but Arthritis in her legs. After all she was 85. She also has been very dependent upon us for every help she can get.  “I should be home soon.”
       “Okay.”

         That was the extent of my day. When I got home, I put groceries away and gave  everyone a candy bar. We all had a long day and I felt we deserved one. I got on my computer and forgot about my troubles as I got lost in my own little world known as writing.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

