Psalms 23 My thoughts

Lately I have been thinking about the Psalms 23rd. It was written by David although he was a shepherd yet I am pretty sure he was a ware of another shepherd in his life–God. Some where in the same book, the psalmist also wrote that “We are alike sheep and have gone astray” and we are also  referred to the sheep of his hands. Jesus also calls us his sheep and himself the good shepherd. I am thankful for his role  as my Shepherd.  Each line stands for something but I have forgotten most of its meaning  so I will do my best here:

THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD(Relationship)
I SHALL NOT WANT( He is all I need)
HE MAKES ME LIE DOWN IN GREEN PASTURES.  (Rest and nourishment for sheep also graze among the pastures)
HE LEADS ME BESIDES THE STILL WATERS (refreshment)
HE RESTORES MY SOUL( my soul includes my mind will and emotions and  I am pretty sure that the events of  the day can wear a person down)
HE LEADS ME IN THE PATHS OF RIGHTEOUSNESS (When we let Jesus lead us, we can’t go wrong. Our paths are always right) FOR HIS NAME SAKE

YEA, THOUGH I WALK THROUGH THE VALLEY OF THE SHADOW OF DEATH(This means  we will  temporarily experience dark times in our lives) I WILL FEAR NO EVIL (He is with as, keeping watch over us and protecting us) FOR YOU ARE WITH ME(He is Immanuel, an ever present help in trouble) THY ROD AND THEY STAFF THEY COMFORT ME( The rod is the rod of  discipline. Sheep are dumb and don’t know any better and needs correction just as we do from time to time. and the Staff is the stick with the hook that is used to hook around the sheep neck to bring him back onto the path) It is nice to know that when we will go off the path, he will bring us back.

Here comes the best part: YOU  PREPARE A TABLE BEFORE ME IN THE PRESENCE OF MY ENEMIES. (What do you think it means he prepares a table? A feast! A Banquet! It is a time of celebration and to me that means we made it through the valley!) YOU ANOINT MY HEAD WITH OIL(Preparing us for service maybe?) MY CUP what? Did you notice it did not say “Is full” meaning is enough nor did it say “Half full” meaning  barely not enough or empty(Lack lack lack) but that it RUNS OVER! Glory to God, it is  a cup running over (MORE THAN ENOUGH) and what does the cup stand for? BLESSINGS! He wants to bless us more than we can imagine!.  SURELY GOODNESS AND MERCY(God’s loving kindness which is better than life) SHALL FOLLOW ME ALL THE DAYS OF MY LIFE! (You don’t even  have to look for it because it is right behind you) AND I WILL DWELL IN THE HOUSE OF THE LORD for how long? FOREVER!

A PRAYER: Thank you, Jesus for being my Shepherd. I know I can not go wrong when you lead me. I know  that you are all I need.

I wanted to post a  video with it, but it was published separetely

Leave a Reply

