Long Distance Relationships

As an author, I have never written anything about long distance relationships, but  I have witnessed what it is like for another. It is not easy to fall in love with and stay in love with someone across the miles.  In most cases, people meet someone in the same area where they live whether it be in a  church, the grocery store, the library or even a bus! You can exchange phone numbers and set up times to see each other, but this is not true if the person  who you meet is online. Or maybe you are married, engaged or seeing someone who  is in another country because they are fighting for our country and you miss them  terribly.

The long distance relationship can be very trying on someone if that person  you love is not able to even chat with you online. One person I know like that is my sister.  She met someone at a dating website and I know that this person is not a  scam artist. A scam artist is always online, waiting to chat with you and hoping that he can win your trust and scam you out of your money if you are not careful.  I have seen what this person looks like and believe me , if he was a scam artist, he would have a photo of someone looking gorgeous–this person is not that!  Her love for him is real and she knows in her heart that he loves her.  It is trying on her hard because after  chatting a  few times, he tells her he has to go to the U.K about an inheritance and to some of her friends, they see this as a red flag. However, I looked up “Inheritance scams” on the net and it is nothing like that.  His father who had died  earlier this year had lived and worked in the U.K  so the paperwork is there.  Her boyfriend lives in Texas.   It has been a couple of weeks since he left and although he only sent her  couple of offline messages and maybe an email, it is not enough. Her heart is sick.
One of the consequences of long distance relationships, is the feeling of lovesickness. Your heart  hurts because you miss that person so much and you long to hear from them. It affects everything you do. I am no expert on the subject, but here is a couple of links: http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/44010532/ns/today-today_health/t/truly-madly-deeply-how-love-makes-you-sick/

http://ezinearticles.com/?Love-Sickness—Its-Causes-and-Its-Remedies&id=2958416
I may have had chances of having  a long distance relationship. I once met a man from Alabama who was like a best friend to me.  We had so much in common that I thought it might be possible that we could be  more than friends, but before I could find out if he felt the same, he stopped writing me. I started missing him and wondered why he did. Now, I am still an unclaimed blessing as  my mother likes to call us and no matter who I meet no one could compare to him. Most men I meet all have one tor two things in common: Scam artists or Control Freaks.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Long Distance Relationships”

Leave a Reply

