Book Reviews for the Past Hunter

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t put it down!! January 1, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Past Hunter is a very good read. I started it, thinking I would read a little to help me relax in bed and get to sleep. I wound up reading it straight through!! I couldn’t put it down. Good story line with great values. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a good Christian book. Kudos to Ruthie!!!!
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book December 25, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Past Hunter is a good read, I finished it in less than a day, it is well written and flows smoothly, and has a good Christian Storyline. If you like stories of love and redemption I think you will like Past Hunter!!!
 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
 
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story line March 5, 2013
By Jenny
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Ruthie’s book The Past Hunter has a great story line. I’m not a fan of romance or Christian books but this book was quite interesting. I look forward to reading more books of Ruthie’s books..

This review is from: The Past Hunter: When The Past Comes Calling (Paperback)

In The Past Hunter by Ruthie Madison the author tells a story that has a great message for the readers. The idea of second chances and that whatever or whoever you worship gives you the strength to go on day-by-day is one that everyone should be able to relate to. Your past is something all people have and you have to come to grips with it–either you learn from it or you try to escape it.

This book is a hard one for me to review. I love the idea and the message it leaves you … however, to me this is one of those books that should never have been published. The writing really needs an editor to make it acceptable. The way the characters talk to each other isn’t natural; there isn’t one contraction in the whole book. There are many areas where I got lost, not knowing who was talking, or to who, or about what. That took away from the flow of the reading. The formatting is way off (it was left margin and not justified) and there are many extra `spaces’ throughout the book. There are also many grammatical mistakes which take away from the message.

I was given a copy of this by the author for an honest review and I have to call it as I read it. If I had to buy a copy of this, I would be very upset after reading it. The author needs to invest in an editor so that the “book” reads more like a book rather than a creative writing assignment from an English class. I do believe that the author has a future in this genre; she just needs to continue to grow as a writer.

Hopefully the author takes this review as constructive criticism and understands that there is a market for this type of genre. The messages are ones that need to be told. I give the book 4 stars for the message it leaves, but 2 stars for the actual writing and formatting. This means I will rate it 3 stars, as I did enjoy the story–it just needs a little more work.

Leave a Reply

