My Cat and My Illness

                     My Illness and my Cat

Meet Henry. He only cares about himself.

He eat, sleeps and plays just like any cat does.

I love him so but I do not like him.

It has been said that people don’t own cats; they own us.

Do they think they are the boss of us?

That we will feed them on command?

What is we are tired or weak?

What if we languish away and do not feel like getting up?

He does not see or care. He wants to eat NOW!

From this cat, I get no thanks because to him,

It is my duty to feed him.

I did not ask for him to “own me”

My owner died when he got ran over.

Henry needed me during a severe trial in his life—

When the spirits would not leave him alone

Because of another person.

Now that this person is no longer alive,

Henry doesn’t need me.

He stopped sleeping in bed with met

Yet he is a lap cat.

There are undesirable things in his life.

I look at him and wish he didn’t depend

On me.

Henry doesn’t see that at times I am unable to feed him

On command.

Sometimes I have to make him wait outside

Or he will keep pestering me to feed him.

He doesn’t see that I am weak and tired.

He only sees….

That…

I am…

The one

To

Feed him.

           SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

