Thanksgiving– A Story

My family and I struggle to make ends meet. After my father passed away a few years ago, we lived on one social security check after another, Life was hard! My sister and I grew up under a strict and stingy father. There were no happy anything because to him  holidays was just another day, but the three of us made the best of those days.

Every Thanks giving, my mom would take us out to Sizzler’s while my father made himself waffles. (If you ask why he didn’t’ come along, it is because he wouldn’t give us enough money  to buy all the fixings). It was nice eating out, but it got to be  too much after a few years. I missed a home cooked meal.

A year after he passed, my mother couldn’t handle walking anymore. Her legs would hurt and we have decided to have dinner at home. That was fine with me. Thanksgiving  falls on my cooking day so I looked forward to preparing a  big meal. (Someday I can do it for my future husband).

We have a lot to be thankful for. Thanksgiving isn’t about having a big meal although the pilgrims and the Natives had a feast. It’s about being thankful for what God has given us. The pilgrims were religious people. I can imagine they gave thanks for the bounty God has provided, and even more a safe landing on Plymouth Rock. I can also imagine the sharing of food! Either side eating food  neither have tasted before.  Here is  link where the Origins of Thanksgiving began http://www.wilstar.com/holidays/thankstr.htm

So as you sit around the table with your family and friends, don’t take for granted with the food God has provided. There are people out in the world who don’t have what you have. They are homeless, poor and starving. In America, there are organizations that offers a Thanksgiving Meal to the less fortunate. Also take time to thank God for all the things he has done for you.

familyaroundtable thanksgiving1

Leave a Reply

